My topic is about how the storyteller gets the audience to become one and join together. I shared this video because it moved me and made my eyes tear up. This guy told an amazing personal story that was very touching. He was able to make me look at life through his perspective. He was able to engage his audience by leading them on with his story. I felt myself wanting very much to hear what was going to happen next and wondering how he was standing there able to tell his story. in that way he engaged me as the audience. I know that if I were with other people I would feel like I am with them united listening to this guy’s story. He was able to engage the audience by using a story that was so moving.

 

Joseph Goldin

group 5!

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. Rachel Siegel says:

    When watching this clip I too became extremely engaged with the story that was being told. When thinking further into the reasons for my engagement I find a fundamental overarching narrative to this story which is purely human. Aside from the historical context of the Nazi regime which we are all able to reflect on, having knowledge of that incident, there is an underlying level of pure human nature to this story. The ability to connect with others, and understand their stories is key to the way that we function alongside one another. The willingness to understand someones story and communicate even despite very strong barriers shows a level of compassion that is often neglected in this day and age. Rob Fasano shows us that there is always opportunity to communicate and opportunity to reflect upon your own life from the stories of others. I believe that if we all took the time out to try and see from the perspectives of one another, instead of making the assumption that we will not get along, we will see that we share a common level of consciousness, that connectivity runs through our lives in ways we don’t even understand.

    Rachel Siegel

  2. Mike Goulding says:

    Here we see the presentation of a theme that allows for almost any audience to connect. As has been said above, Rob’s story is highly human, its plays very much on the feelings and thoughts of our most trying times. Although I cannot relate to Rob’s exact physical situation, I can connect to aspects of what he is feeling. Because of the way he put forth his story, I am able to see, feel, and imagine the pain, sorrow, his experience and connect it to my own experience. They’re many aspects of his story in which the audience can connect, but his all-ecompassing theme of acceptance is what draws me in. This theme wraps up the story well and to me is one of the key messages. It’s really quite emotional, he accepts that he can’t believe what everyone tells him, what he tells himself, that he’s “good”. He accepts that he is not A-okay, he accepts what has happened to him. Acceptance is freeing, “that was one when I grew up.”

  3. I also was extremely engaged and moved by Rob’s story. Like both Rachel and Mike said, it was relatable because it was so human. It was a personal story which connects the audience to the storyteller in a way that is completely different from the audience when it is a fiction story or a folktale. I also think the message was acceptance, but to get to that message, we learn that someone is always worse off than you. To every man with a broken leg, there is a man with two broken legs, or is paralyzed, or worse. But those traits shouldn’t define you. No matter how bad a situation may be, bottom-line is that everyone is the same and deserves the same amount of respect. The man who couldn’t talk at the end of the story could still understand. He could still provide a different perspective to the world, and the stories that are the most difficult to unravel, are often the most interesting and the deepest.

  4. Also, I just finished reading our reading required for this week, and I wanted to pose the question to the class if Rob is telling this story as the beneficiary or as the helper?

    I think that Rob may have told this story before, after the experience, and he was the beneficiary–learning from it. But I think at this point, he is the helper. He has already taken out of the story what he needs to, and he can allow the audience to be the beneficiary of it. Joseph, Rachel, and Mike all said that they took something from it or were connected or engaged. That is what I think is necessary of a helper to give to the beneficiary. What do you all think?

  5. Hannah Barg says:

    Rob Fasano tells a powerful story, it reels the audience in not only because of its emotional content but also because of the way in which he tells it. I believe that the invitation into the story is subtle, simply by saying “New Years Eve…” the audience is invited to imagine a day and time that most of us are familiar with. I like Kayla’s question of whether Rob is the helper or beneficiary of this particular story, and I agree that his role has most likely changed throughout his life. I think that is the case with most stories of suffering, such as Rob’s, but also the story of the German butcher. It is not until Rob heard his roommate’s story of personal pain and suffering that he was able to understand his own situation from a mature point of view. Thus hearing another person’s painful story can allow us to understand our own lives, probe our own pains, and then turn our stories around to be the tool that helps others.

Leave a Reply

